Storytime: Changing the Station

By

Been doing a lot of thinking over the past few weeks. Things happened so quickly with Arlington Station since October of 2007. We all had a great time, but it’s time to move on. For those of you who don’t know, Arlington Station is down to just me. Without getting into details, it’s just really hard to keep a band together. Much harder than it looks like from the outside. So many variables and emotions.

Met with Dave and Lisa for dinner the other night. Lisa is excited about trying to go for it on her own as a front person for her own band. We left dinner that night looking forward to playing music together again. I’m sure it will happen. Ron and I have also talked a bit recently. And while we won’t be doing anything with AST, we have agreed that we’d love the chance to play music together again as our schedules will allow. He’s got quite a few projects in front of him as one would expect someone that talented to have!

Meanwhile, I’m playing and writing. Nothing’s changed there. In the next few weeks and months I hope to do a couple of things. First, I’d like to keep getting gigs. It will be harder now as a solo performer and the crowds will be very small compared to the AST shows, but that’s cool. I spent a year and a half playing to small crowds pre-AST and was happy. I’ll just do it all over again.

Second, on the advice of a few people, including Billy Brandt, I’m going to do what I have to do to get a CD recorded. Even if it’s only 4-6 songs. I’ll need that CD to makes some money and get some gigs. Looking forward to the process.

Third, I have begun to enter a few of my songs in songwriting contests. I have no idea how this will go, but it’s fun to think about. Any recognition will be appreciated and motivating.

Finally, I’d just like to say thanks to Dave, Lisa, Ron and everyone who showed up for the shows or supported Arlington Station in any way. It’s been a great, fun ride. Hope to see you out soon.

John