Life As A Play: The $40 Shower Head

By

[Back in the plumbing aisle after a shower head rang up as $38.99]
Me [to wandering manager]: Excuse me, I have a question.
Mgr: Sure.
Me: Why is this shower head [showing shower head in my hand to Mgr.] ringing up as $38.99 when it says right above all the others [pointing to a rack full of identical shower heads] that it’s $19.99.
Mgr: I don’t know.
Me: Ok, fair enough. But there are three different types of this shower head. Brushed Nickel, White and Chrome. They *appear* to be priced $19.99, $26.99 and $32.99 respectively.
Mgr: Yep.
Me: Excellent. So where is the $38.99 coming from?
Mgr: I don’t know.
Me: So, hypothetically, if I’m shopping for this shower head, how do I know how much it will really cost me?
Mgr: Whatever it rings up as.
*headdesk*