60 Second Story: Hug ’em While You Got ’em

By

Dad died on Christmas eve a long time ago. This is one of my favorite photos of us together. The next day we put together a photo album for the funeral and I wrote a little message to my fellow mourners. Here’s an excerpt:

“As sons often do, I learned a great deal from him. He allowed me to make mistakes if he thought they would benefit me and rescued me from a few near disasters. His discipline was not always readily accepted and sometimes hard to understand. Like most people, we had many “tense” discussions (most call these arguments). Some people thought it was because we were so much alike. I consider that a great compliment.

Although he passed away on Christmas Eve, I’ll consider having him as my father the greatest gift of all. – John J. – December 25, 1984.”

Merry Christmas, everyone. Hug ’em while you got ’em.