60 Second Story: More Chalk

By

Three weeks ago I came across this building. The people of Detroit had spoken.

We need: Pools, Jesus, More Love, Real Women, Real Men, Dr. MLK, Better Playgrounds, More Time, Angels, Peace, Opportunity, Hope, JFK, Faith, Buses for School, Role Models, More Black Leaders, To Respect Our Elders and More Chalk! – The People of Detroit

We Need

We Need

I posted about this on Facebook and, in the spirit of “Doing what we can with what we have”, a friend of mine commented:

I suggest that we collectively support this effort with a “chalk drive” and contribute the offering of an abundant collection of chalk to those whose voices are so often ignored. Chalk is a creative communication device amply suited to “the people” and I think we should encourage this effort–more chalk leading to more talk will lead to the necessary peaceful revolution. Yes, I’m serious. – My friend Michelle

Well, she showed up at my house soon after with two boxes of chalk. I was happy to deliver said chalk to the site this afternoon. Write, on, good people of Detroit. Write on.

More Chalk

More Chalk

To see more, visit: John Natiw Photography